Life so far as a PR and Brand Communications Intern

I am currently a PR and Brand Communications Intern for JOP Communication Ltd. I believe that being an intern alongside studying at university has really opened my eyes to what the world has to offer for a young PR practitioner. I have thoroughly enjoyed the experiences and the new skills learnt that being an intern has offered me. I just thought I would share what I have been up to recently.

I was introduced to speed networking at Manahatta, York by York Professionals. As part of my ongoing work experience for JOP Communications Ltd, I have learnt a lot from this event. I have learnt top tips on how to network from Michelle Mook as well as the pit falls to avoid. It was great to meet so many people and to put my networking into practice. This was the first professional event I have attended, it was fair to say I thrived and thoroughly enjoyed widening my network by interacting with so many experienced professionals.

During my Easter break from university, I decided to solely dedicate a week to build on and gain new skills that are relevant to the PR and Communications industry.

As part of my work experience for JOP Communications Ltd, I have published 12 new events on the Yorkshires Great Houses Castles & Gardens website. These events were specifically for The Yorkshire Arboretum and National Trust– Nunnington Hall. I found the word press platform rather straightforward to use and format the events on. I am proud to say I feel confident in editing and publishing information and events on the word press platform.

Social media posting was on todays agenda. I was briefed on York Professionals ‘York City Walls Walk followed by Afternoon Tea at Gray’s Court’ event. I crafted three different social media posts, one for LinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter. I learnt the importance of hashtags and how using them on each social media post can boost engagement and interactivity! I am thoroughly enjoying learning new skills and being able to put them into practice.

York Professionals run a wide-range of events and it was my pleasure to help set the November ‘Christmas Social & Quiz at Impossible York’ event up on the Eventbrite platform. I have learnt how to create the event profile, set up different ticket types and then publish the event. I am loving learning so many different skills and will be helping deliver a networking event at The Principal York in the morning.

York Professionals held a ‘Traditional Pure Networking event’ at The Principal York. It was a great chance for fellow professionals to network over a full English breakfast. We heard from Clive Owen LLP about their business’ success and their upcoming work anniversary. This event has allowed me to widen my network of contacts and has given me experience in the running of an event.

This week has opened my eyes to see what the future might hold for me!😁


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started